Slokas: Lingeshwara: Brahma Muraari

Brahma Muraari Suraarchitha Lingam

Nirmala Baashitha So’bhitha Lingam |
Janmaja Dh:ukkha Vinaasaka Lingam
Thath Pranamaami Sadhaasiva Lingam ||

Dhe’vamuni Parvaraarchitha Lingam
Kaama dhahana Karunaakara Lingam |
Raavana Tharpa Vinaachana Lingam
Thath Pranamaami Sadhaasiva Lingam ||

A lingam can be movable ” Chalam” or unmovable ” Achalam” or both movable and unmovable “Chalachalam”. A lingam is a combination of a stem portion, which is the “Lingam” and a base or peetam called a “yoni”. Of the stem 1/3 it’s length is square, the second 1/3 is eight sides and the rest cylindrical. The square portion corresponds to “Brahma” the creative aspect of the absolute. The eight-sided figure corresponds to “Vishnu” the protective aspect of God and the cylindrical portion; the dissolution aspect of God corresponds to “Rudra”. A combination of these is what is called a Shivalinga.

The Yoni peetam will consist of a circular lower and middle portion and a leaf shaped upper portion, into which the stem is erected. The Brahma portion lies in the ground. The Vishnu portion the yoni peetam and the Rudra portion above the peetam. In the Rudra portion a lotus bud formation with 3 lines is embossed and it forms the face. This is known as a Kriya_lingam and corresponds to a sculpted lingam. This has to be installed in temple; this is there for classed as an Achalaingam.

A naturally formed lingam or Swayambu lingam also falls under this category. Crystal, or ruby, or stone, rice, cooked rice, river sand, cow dung, butter, sandalwood paste, Rudraksham, flowers, Kusa grass, jaggery and flour can be worshiped and after worship, removed. These are known as “Kshanika” lingams. No proportions of size are requiring for these lingams.

Lingams made of metals such as gold, silver, copper, bronze, brass, lead, etc are known as “Lohaya” lingams. If they are of sandalwood, Ashoka, Devadharu, Ebony, Bilva etc the are known as “Tharuya” lingams.

Stone lingams are the suitable ones for temple worship.

They can be classed as

1. Swayambulingam

2. Daivatham

3. Ghanapam

4. Aasuram

5. Suram

6. Aarusham

7. Maanusham

8. Rakshasam

9. Bhaanam.

A Bhaanalingam is what is installed at the Sri Rajarajeswari peetam in RUSH New York. It is oblong cylindrical stone found naturally in the river called Narmada. The stones used in making a kriya lingam are classed as male, female & neutral stone. Stones will resonate if struck with the handle of the chisel in the lower scale of an octave.

The Lingam is to be made with this stone. The Yoni peetam with a female stone and the base made with a neutral stone. The scale of a temple Lingam will determine everything from the size of the chamber that houses it, to the Nandi, to size of steps, gopuram and ultimately the size the temple itself. Every dimension will happen to be a fraction or multiple of the Lingam.