Temples of Tiruchirapalli

Trichy or Tiruchirappalli is an important educational,commercial and manufacturing centre of Tamil Nadu.

The city was listed as the third cleanest city in India in 2016 and home to most prominent historical monuments of Tamil Nadu.

Ucchi Pillayar Rockfort Temple, Trichy

Ucchi Pillayar Temple at Rockfort is dedicated to Lord Ganesh, situated at the top of the rock. The temple has rock cut architecture and offers stunning view of Kaveri river, Srirangam island and Trichy city.

Jambukeswarar Temple, Thiruvanaikkaval

Jambukeswarar Temple at Thiruvanaikaval is the most famous Lord Shiva temple in South India and also one of the five major Lord Shiva Temples of Tamil Nadu. The temple is also located in the Srirangam island and part of the Paadal Petra Sthalams.

Ranganathaswamy Temple, Srirangam

Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple at Srirangam island is dedicated to reclining form of the Lord Vishnu, known as Ranganatha. The temple has one of the tallest temple tower in south India and one of the largest Hindu temple in the world.

Erumbeeswarar Temple, Thiruverumbur

Erumbeeswarar Temple is dedicated to the Lord Shiva, situated at top of the 60 feet tall hill and classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam. The temple was built by Aditya Chola and the protected monument by the Archaeological Survey of India.

Ukrakaliamman Temple, Tennur

Tennur Ukra Kali Amman Temple is a Goddess Kali temple, located in suburbs of Tiruchirappalli. Tennur is also an important business center of Tiruchirappalli.

Panchavarnaswamy Temple, Woraiyur

Panchavarnaswamy Temple dedicated to Lord Shiva is located in Woraiyur and part of the Paadal Petra Sthalam. The temple has several historical inscriptions of the Chola period.

Samayapuram Mariamman Temple, Samayapuram

Samayapuram Mariamman Temple is dedicated to Mariamman. The temple is one of the most powerful temples in Tamil Nadu and attracts thousands of people.

Azhagiya Manavala Perumal Temple, Uraiyur

Azhagiya Manavala Perumal Temple is dedicated to the Hindu god Vishnu, situated in Uraiyur suburb Tiruchirappalli. The temple is one of the 108 Divyadesam dedicated to Lord Vishnu in India.

Thanthodreeswarar Temple, Woraiyur

Thanthodreeswarar Temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva and was built by the Pandya, located in Woraiyur.

Vekkali Amman Temple, Woraiyur

Vekkali Amman Temple is located in Woraiyur suburb in Tiruchirapalli and known for the feature, absence of roof over the sanctum.